Friday, January 27, 2006

Euro 2008 qualifying draw held

The draw for the qualifying competition for the 2008 European Championships was held today in Montreux, Switzerland. There will be seven groups. Austria and Switzerland are joint hosts, which leaves 14 qualifying spots. I can only assume this means that the top two in each group will go through to the finals. The groups are listed in the order of the draw, which means that the highest-seeded team is listed first and the lowest-seeded team last. Qualifying begins on September 2, 2006. Group A: Portugal, Poland, Serbia & Montenegro, Belgium, Finland, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan Group B: France, Italy, Ukraine, Scotland, Lithuania, Georgia, Faroe Islands Group C: Greece, Turkey, Norway, Bosnia & Hercegovina, Hungary, Moldova, Malta Group D: Czech Republic, Germany, Slovakia, Republic of Ireland, Wales, Cyprus, San Marino Group E: England, Croatia, Russia, Israel, Estonia, Macedonia, Andorra Group F: Sweden, Spain, Denmark, Latvia, Iceland, Northern Ireland, Liechtenstein Group G: Netherlands, Romania, Bulgaria, Slovenia, Albania, Belarus, Luxembourg

-- Jonathan @ RGB Cards @ 1/27/2006 11:53:00 AM


Post a Comment

<< Home